Seahorse history.

The Ballina Rugby Club was formed in December 1975 at a meeting at the Australian Hotel. Initially the Ballina Rugby Club played its games at Clement Park, followed by Kingsford Smith Park before finding its home in 1983 at Quays Reserve. In the following years the Clubhouse was built and officially opened  on 3rd March 1985 with a match between the Australian Barbarians  and the President’s XV.

 Ballina entered the Far North Coast Reserve Grade competition in 1976. They won their first match 28-6 against Grafton and went on to win the Premiership that year, beating Grafton again in the Grand Final at Coffs Harbour 12-0. The following year (1977) Ballina moved into the 1st Grade competition. The Club has never looked back since, adding Reserve grade to its ranks in 1978, ‘Thirsty’ Third grade in 1985 and a under 19 team in 1987. For the first 4 years the club used the Flying Pelican as its emblem before replacing it in 1983 with the ‘Mighty Seahorse’.

 The Senior grades have enjoyed much success over the years accumulating 34 Premierships among them since the Club began. 1993 saw the introduction of Junior Rugby grades to the Ballina Rugby Club. Their first Premiership came in 1998 by the under 13 team. Since then the Club has won 4 more Junior Premierships and competed strongly across all Junior grades and continues to do so. 


life members

The success of any organisation can only be measured by the energy and enthusiasm that the pioneers and members bring over many years. This list is the recognition of those stalwarts who have all provided time, effort and sweat to build a legacy for future generations. With little reward and recognition, these members have provided the foundation and have continued to carry on the great work to ensure that the Ballina Rugby Club remains a force in the Far North Coast Rugby Zone and the wider Ballina community.

Chris Lomax

Graham Steel

Tim Trotter

Alex Arrighi

Eoin Johnston

Col Groves

John Leon

Karl Lupton

Craig Giltrap

Ian Froggatt

Greg Hart

Val Rowlands

Mick Koellner

Mark Charter

Craig Davy

Chris Long

Paul Davies


check out the club.

Make sure you connect with us on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube to keep up to date with our clubs social banter.